

CROESYCEILIOG AND LLANYRAFON COMMUNITY COUNCIL CYNGOR CYMUNED CROESYCEILIOG a LLANYRAFON Caring for the Community

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING MONDAY 19 MAY 2025 AT 6.00PM, COUNCIL CHAMBER, WOODLAND ROAD SPORTS & SOCIAL CENTRE, CROESYCEILIOG

Present:

Cllr S Matthews (Chair) Cllr V Williams Cllr N Davies Cllr C Crick Cllr D Dewar

Cllr D Payton Cllr V Crick

In attendance:

Sian Davies, Clerk Kelly Lewis, Administrator

Cllr S Matthews Chaired the meeting until the new Chair was elected. The meeting was then chaired by Vice-Chair Cllr V Crick.

1. Elect a Chairman of the Council

Members proposed and seconded the election of Cllr J Boycott **RESOLVED:** Cllr J Boycott was unanimously elected as Chair for the Council year 2025/26 and will be asked to confirm Acceptance of Office at the next Full Council meeting.

2. Elect Vice-Chairman of the Council

Members proposed and seconded the election of Cllr V Crick **RESOLVED:** Cllr V Crick was elected as Vice-Chair for the Council year 2025/26 and subsequently confirmed the Acceptance of Office.

3. Retiring Chairman's Annual Report

The retiring Chairman's report was conveyed to members during the meeting and thanks to all members, the Clerk and Administrator for their support were reiterated during the meeting. Members also thanked ClIr S Matthews for receipt of the informative report and the work as Chair over the council year, and it was agreed the report will be circulated to members

Cllr S Matthews also notified members of the passing of 2 local residents, Reverend Canon Harald Thomas and Paul Austin, both of whom have made remarkable contributions within the community, and members agreed have helped to shape Cwmbran over the local past 40-50 years. Members held a minute's silence in remembrance.

RESOLVED: Members noted

4. Apologies

Cllr J Boycott, Cllr M Price, Cllr D Williams

5. Minutes

The Minutes of the Annual Meeting held 20 May 2024 were received and noted. **RESOLVED:** The Minutes had been approved and signed at 24th June 2024 Ordinary meeting. The minutes from this meeting will be presented to Full Council at the next meeting.

6. Business Planning Committee

(i) Membership of the Business Planning Committee

Members considered the membership of the Business Planning Committee and nominations were received.

RESOLVED: Members agreed the membership of the Committee: Cllr S Matthews (Vice Chair BP), Cllr J Boycott (Ex Officio), Cllr C Crick, Cllr N Davies, Cllr M Price, Cllr D Dewar, Cllr D Williams, Cllr D Payton, Cllr V Crick Members resolved to increase the numbers of the committee from 7 to 9 to assist with being quorate, as this is occasionally an issue. The Terms of Reference for the Business Planning meetings to be altered to reflect this change.

(ii) Election of Chairman to the Business Planning Committee

Members received a nomination and seconded for the Chair of the Business Planning Committee. **RESOLVED:** Members approved Cllr C Crick as Chair of the Business Planning Committee for 2025/26.

7. Local Community Resilience Committee

(i) Membership of the Local Community Resilience Committee

Members considered the membership of the Committee and nominations were received.

RESOLVED: Members agreed the membership of the Committee: Cllr M Price (Chair) Cllr J Boycott (Ex Officio), Cllr S Matthews, Cllr V Crick, Cllr D Dewar, Cllr D Williams, Cllr V Williams, Cllr D Payton. Members resolved that to assist with being quorate, the Terms of Reference for LCRC meetings should be reduced from 4 Members to 3 Members to be quorate, as this is occasionally an issue. The Terms of Reference for the Local Community Resilience meetings to be altered to reflect this change.

(ii) Election of Chairman to the Local Community Resilience Committee

Members received a nomination and seconded for the Chair of the Local Community Resilience Committee.

RESOLVED: Members approved Cllr M Price as Chair of the Local Community Resilience Committee for 2025/26

8. Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies for 2025/26

Members considered appointments to Outside Bodies for the ensuing year. It was also suggested that an enquiry is sent to Llanfrechfa Village Association to determine if they are still meeting, David Leech, TCBC is contacted regarding LCPC to enquire the date for the next meeting relating to the charter, Reverend Boxall is asked to provide members with a report following governor meetings at Llanyrafon Primary School

Outside Body	CLCC Representative
Armed Forces Covenant	Cllr Stewart Matthews
Congress Theatre Management Committee	Cllr Stewart Matthews
Cwmbran Centre for Young People (CCYP)	Cllr Nigel Davies Cllr Colin Crick
Friends of Bruchsal Management Committee	Cllr Darrell Dewar Cllr Stewart Matthews
Friends of Bruchsal Trust Fund	Cllr David Williams Cllr Stewart Matthews Cllr Darrell Dewar
Greenmeadow Community Farm	Cllr Stewart Matthews
Llantarnam Grange Arts Centre	Cllr Veronica Crick
One Voice Wales Gwent Valleys Area Committee (Quarterly)	Cllr Stewart Matthews Cllr Nigel Davies Cllr Daniel Payton (Reserve) Clerk to the Council
One Voice Wales Larger Councils Committee	Cllr Colin Crick Clerk to the Council
HM Prison Usk & Prescoed – Prison Council Liaison Meetings (PCLM)	Cllr Veronica Crick
Mic Morris Trust	Cllr Sean O'Dobhain
Torfaen Aids for the Disabled	Cllr Vicki Williams
Torfaen Community Transport	Cllr Vicki Williams
Torfaen Environment Trust / Torfaen Environmental Association	Clerk to the Council
Torfaen Local Partnership Committee (LCPC)	Cllr Stewart Matthews

RESOLVED: Members agreed the appointments as follows:

	Cllr Nigel Davies Clerk to the Council
Torfaen Museum Trust	Cllr Daniel Payton
Torfaen Voluntary Alliance (TVA)	Cllr Veronica Crick
Minor Authority Representative on the Board of Governors at:	CLCC Representative
	CLCC Representative Cllr Jo Boycott

9. Cycle of Meetings 2025/26

Members considered the cycle of meetings for 2025/26. **RESOLVED:** Members agreed the cycle of meetings for the forthcoming year and agreed that the new Local Community Resilience Group dates will be dependent on TCBC

2025 Meetings		
19 May 6.00pm	Annual Meeting & Ordinary Full Council	
11 June 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee	
23 June 6.00pm	Ordinary Full Council	
9 July 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee	
28 July 6.00pm	Ordinary Full Council	
August	RECESS	
10 September 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee	
22 September 6.00pm	Ordinary Full Council	
8 October 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee	
27 October 6.00pm	Ordinary Full Council	
12 November 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee	
24 November 6.00pm	Ordinary Full Council	
December	RECESS	
2026 Meetings		
14 January 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee	
26 January 6.00pm	Ordinary Full Council	
11 February 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee	
23 February 6.00pm	Ordinary Full Council	
11 March 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee	

23 March 6.00pm	Ordinary Full Council
8 April 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee
27 April 6.00pm	Ordinary Full Council
13 May 6.00pm	Business Planning Committee
18 May 6.00pm	Annual Meeting &
	Ordinary Full Council

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was concluded at 6.40pm